A lunch date for one – Just me, myself and I

Gourmet Food Trucks are all the rage in downtown Toronto these days.  I first heard of them from a friend who is a food blogger, so I started following some of the kitchens on wheels on Twitter.  From there, I learned that the corner of Queen and Jarvis, aka Food Truck alley has become a reliable spot to find food trucks that serve up something different from the usual street meat most of us are used to.

No one was around the office today, so I decided to jump on the subway and head down to Queen & Jarvis for a lunch date alone – just me, myself and I.  When I (or, we) got there, the parking lot where the food trucks were parked was filled with food lovers patiently waiting in line for some good eats.  All the menus for the different trucks looked delicious.  I couldn’t decide between Lobster Tail from one truck, or Pork Belly Tacos from another.  It was hot and the lunch clock was ticking.  I chose the Bitchin’ Ceviche Salad with Spicy Tortillas from the Gourmet B1tches.  I  have to admit, it was the word “bitchin’” in the menu that sold me.

There were so many good things to choose from that I was unsure if ceviche was what I really wanted.  I chose it because the line-ups were big, I was hungry, and ceviche would be faster as it would already be prepared.  And of course, I chose it because I love it.  But I’ve ordered it before at local restaurants and I have been disappointed.

In case you don’t know what ceviche is, it is basically fish or seafood that is “cooked” in something acidic like lemon or lime juice, sometimes even vinegar.  It is actually not cooked with heat at all, rather marinated in the juice for at least three hours, the acid cooking the fish. The dish is served most often with bread or crackers and is popular in Central America and other coastal nations. Once in a blue moon I make ceviche at home so maybe I will share the recipe here in the future. It’s super easy to make.

I first had ceviche in Costa Rica many years ago at a restaurant called Playa des Los Artistas.  Their menu changed daily based on their daily catch from the sea.  Tasty and unique variations of this dish were always on the handwritten menu.  Satisfying my taste for fresh oceanside ceviche is hard to live up to.  I’m picky and I know what I like.

I’m no Foodie, nor do I really know what I’m talking about when it comes to fine foods.  But I do know that ceviche tastes best served at room temperature.  There’s nothing worse than being served an ice cold dish of ceviche that has been sitting in the refrigerator.  In Canada, we put everything in the refrigerator!

You can imagine how delighted I was when I picked up my order and found that the ceviche was not ice cold!  I knew it was going to be good, so I took a few quick snapshots for my Instagram feed, and proceeded to find a spot to sit down and enjoy my meal.

There aren’t exactly very many good places to sit and eat outside at Queen and Jarvis.  I decided the best place to enjoy my meal was on the nearby grass at St. Michael’s Cathedral at Queen and Church.  I found a nice patch of grass in the shade, laid down my jean jacket and sat to finally enjoy my meal.  It was about time after practically salivating over it in the two blocks it took me to walk there.

Oh boy, it was delicious.  I’m telling you, the ceviche was heavenly – all fresh, served on a bed of Kale with spicy tortilla chips served fresh out of the deep fryer.  OMG.  A glass of chilled dry white wine would have been perfect, but the can of grapefruit SanPelligrino that was recommended to me, sufficed and was quite refreshing with my spicy ceviche salad.  Perfection.

While I took delight in every morsel of my lunch, a musical duo performed music and spoken word poetry in front of the church.  Could there be a more perfect lunch date then this?

I enjoyed my lunch hour so much that I immediately thought, “I have to blog this”.  I didn’t start this out as a food blog, but when the inspiration strikes, you have to take it.  So here we are.

Maybe I should blog about food more, and my other adventures in and around Toronto.  It would certainly be better than my lack of blogging anything interesting here.  I cross post my Instagram photos, but I started this Tumblr so I could have a place to write.  I enjoy good food, conversation and family outings, so why not write about that?  And with family, there is always food involved.  But there are a lot of things to consider when starting a food blog, like the cost of eating out often (with a family of four) for blog fodder, scouting good places to eat, and taking photos to make it interesting.  I like taking snapshots for Instagram, but food photography is completely different than general shots around town.  Can I do it justice?  Would anyone be interested in reading about what I like to eat?

All those questions and considerations are important, and they are manageable.  I can figure it out and learn as I go.  The real question that I’m pondering at the moment is…how do I expand my taste buds and food horizons to make blogworthy reading, without expanding my waist line? Hmmmm…

Check out the Gourmet B1tches website

and

Toronto Food Trucks for news, locations and reviews

One thought on “A lunch date for one – Just me, myself and I

  1. Carrie Commanda

    Haha I love food, I wish I had a food blog cuz I have so many photo’s of so many good lookin foods over the years..lol Yum. I can’t wait to get a new camera. OMG. OH and that restaurant in Costa Rica sounds good. I want to try a nice fresh food place like that.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

