The day after Sandy

So the remnants of Hurricane Sandy blew over Lake Ontario last night. I heard the wind howling through my bedroom window for a few hours in the night. Walking around my neighbourhood this morning, it doesn’t look like we got a lot of rain, but the strong winds certainly shook things up. There are reports of fires, downed power lines, and uprooted trees in certain parts of the city. The worst I heard on the local news is that one woman was killed when she was struck by a piece of debris at Keele and St. Clair.

The worst thing to happen in my part of the city is a few power lines went down causing the King and Queen Streetcars to be out of service today, and the vibrant and colourful autumn leaves have all been blown off the trees. This is nothing in comparison to what residents on the East Coast are currently experiencing.

Today the trees are looking pretty bare in comparison to this shot I took last weekend. I’m a dud and didn’t think to take a photo of the bare trees for comparison. Next time.

Today I am counting my blessings and my heart goes out to those whose lives have been impacted by Sandy.

;

Follow me on Instagram: @callmeSheBear

Leave a Reply

