My personal prescription for stress relief

The other day, I had an “aha!” moment. I co-facilitate a ten week empowerment group for women in which we often have special guests come in to talk about topics like self-care. Last week we had a guest speaker walk us through some mindful breathing, and gentle yoga techniques.

We started talking about things we enjoy doing that help us relieve stress in our lives. They could be anything from watching television, taking long baths, going for walks or a hobby.

It seems so obvious, but it only occurred to me at that moment that my main motivation for pursuing iphone photography has nothing to do with wanting to live a creative life, or trying to be all artsy fartsy and all that mumbo jumbo. Okay, well maybe it does a little bit, but underneath all of that there is something more.

My early morning drives down to the lake are not just about getting pretty pictures of sunrises and birds feeding in the cold water. It’s not about the editing and uploading to Instagram or Flickr, and it’s definitely not about getting hundreds of “likes”, “favourites” and comments to boost my Ego.

My motivation is plain and simple – to relieve stress in my life, and it works! I could definitely use more of that.

2 thoughts on “My personal prescription for stress relief

  1. Courtney

    It’s really awesome when we find out that something we really enjoy is also a stress relief too. I have noticed a change in my life since I started blogging. I could never figure out why I was so stressed, but when I blog I feel creative and for me, creativity is a complete escape!

    Your pictures are beautiful by the way! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

