Random happiness

A few days ago, I had the afternoon off from work yesterday so I could run some errands. As should be expected when applying for government records and documents, things didn’t go as planned and it turned out to be quite a stressful afternoon. I wasn’t able to get anything completed. Instead of getting upset about it, I decided to try again the next day, and go pick my kids up from school since I was in the neighbourhood. It’s such a rare thing that I pick them up. They usually get picked up by their After School Club.

At this time of year, we never get home while it’s still daylight. It’s dark and looks like ten o’clock at night when we open our door. But yesterday since we were off early, I decided to go for a drive down to the lake for sunset. We drove, sang along to some music and joked around on the way there. My daughter remarked that I was in a very good mood and that my “Happy Lamp must be working”. I’ve been using it every morning for the last few weeks or so, and I hadn’t really paid much attention to whether it was making a difference or not. It was almost like a surprise to me when she made mention of my good mood.

I don’t know if it’s the UV light therapy lamp that is making or difference or I’m just starting to feel better. Either way, it doesn’t harm me or anyone to sit in front of it for 30 minutes each morning while I check my email and catch up on blog reading

My kids are pretty amazing and every day they make me laugh with their candor and wit. They say and do the funniest things and I can’t remember what life was like before them. My daughter and I agree that her six-year-old brother could be one of two things when he grows up – a race car driver or a stand up comedian. I’m hoping for the latter because it’s not life threatening and far more entertaining.

My daughter , who is ten, says she wants to be a photographer when she grows up. She often comes along with me for photo walks taking pics with her iPod. She took these two shots below:

Caught red-handed, Instagramming.

Caught red-handed, Instagramming.

photo (5)

“I also would like to be a writer, just like you”, she says.

We didn’t stay at the lake very long because it was cold. I think we were there for only about twenty minutes, but it was twenty minutes of pure quality time together, laughing, chatting and having fun on the cold shore of Lake Ontario.

On the drive home, my daughter said “I like it when you’re happy Mommy”.

I like it too.

photo (4)

Follow me on Instagram: @callmeSheBear

18 thoughts on “Random happiness

  1. lsmith2710

    I liked Your “Happy Lamp” comment by your daughter, good one…..I ‘m going to try and remember that……..thanks (:)

    Reply
  2. SmallHouseBigGarden

    The relationships I’ve developed with my 3 kids are the most important relationships in my life. (i’ve been a single mother since the youngest was 8) Nothing is more important than time spent with family: I’m so happy to read YOU were happy from the UV light and able to enjoy the lake as much as your kids did!
    Great post!

    Reply
  3. missnikkisays

    Found you through Freshly Pressed. Love your blog. Love the pics. It must be awesome to have such great kids. I can’t wait til I have my own. Definitely going to follow you. Take care πŸ™‚ PS. I will add you on Instagram as well, my name on there is the same.

    Reply
  4. elauran

    I loved your post shebear. Will definitely be following you. When I have my kids I pray I will be their friend like you seem to be with yours. Thanks for the reminder to find happiness.
    P.S: Your daughter is a great shot! Way to go girl.

    Reply
  5. Pingback: 5:20 am. And, Inspired… – Lead.Learn.Live.

  6. denisefrombolton

    I also found you from freshly pressed. Stunning photos, your daughter is an amazing photographer, as are you. What an amazing part of the world you live in.

    A very moving and simple post. At nearly 63 I have got past the mid life crisis’s and come to realise that my Children and grandchildren are my meaning for life and more important than any other achievement or aspiration. So glad to read you are coming to that conclusion also.

    Hope you have a wonderful Christmas and continue to have your voice heard here.

    Love Denise

    Reply

Leave a Reply

