Pondering blog fright, and dealing with change

20121224-100754.jpg

I have to admit that I am feeling some stage fright, or should I say “blog fright”, since being featured on Freshly Pressed. I know that I already did my obligatory “post-Freshly Pressed” blog, but this fear only became apparent to me when i last looked at my follower count a few days ago and it sunk in that I went from a modest forty-nine followers to over three hundred in a matter of days.

Gulp.

So yesterday, I went down to the lake to take some photos because that always makes me feel better, and to ponder my fear…

20121224-100747.jpg

I never look at my blog stats, mostly because I don’t care all that much, and also because they don’t make a lot of sense to me. It could also be that more numbers and stats means more eyes watching me, and that kind of freaks me out. When I peaked at my stats this morning and started thinking about what to write about next, some silly thoughts started running through my head like “maybe I’m a one blog wonder”, a flash in the pan of the blogosphere and now I will just fade away into obscurity…

No pressure or anything!

I’m not complaining, really. Freshly Pressed was a pleasant surprise that showed up when I least expected it and because of it I have found some wonderful new bloggers to follow. It’s awesome!

Still, I’m feeling a rather irrational fear of not living up to expectations (my own), and not letting anyone (myself) down. Once again, I’m faced with either listening to that harsh critical voice in my head that makes me go silent, or that soft and quiet voice that tells me the only thing I should continue to do here is just be myself.

That soft and quiet voice is so much more sensible.

The more things change, the more they stay the same.

The more things change, the more they stay the same.

Follow me on Instagram: @callmeSheBear

14 thoughts on “Pondering blog fright, and dealing with change

  1. clara

    My advice is that you don’t forget about the PLEASURE of doing your blog. Stick to it, don’t lose it. The number of followers and fright might push you in the direction of responding to others’ expectations. That would be wrong in your case, as it is evident you are have a lyric approach to blogging, it means it is personal and intimate. Don’t lose it, just keep being yourself, and don’t worry too much about the umber of followers! Happy Holidays!

    Reply
  2. ummqamarblogs

    Don’t worry about trying to impress or satisfy your new followers. Stay true to yourself and the amazing blog posts will continue to transpire. By the way I love your photography!

    Reply
  3. The Viking from Yorkshire

    I’m with you! I’ve not even been featured on “Freshly Pressed” – I’m almost inclined to say “Thank God”…. but yesterday my stats exploded. I’ve been getting about 25-30 hits a day. Yesterday 106, and it’s well on the way to that today – and like you, I gulped. I even went through a few of the posts to make sure that what I was saying couldn’t be taken the *wrong*way and getting upset with me for saying it (my experience in life is that if there is a way of misunderstanding something, somebody will).

    However, at the end of the day, there wouldn’t be much point in blogging if nobody wanted to read you at all. And your blog is fantastic. As I have said before, I’m glad I found you on “Freshly Pressed”.

    But I feel your nerves….. believe me I do!

    Reply
    1. The Citywide Mental Health Project

      About not much point in blogging if nobody wants to read you at all. I have one of those blogs that no one wants to read. Well, a few lost souls have bumped into it and read something. But, somehow, I love blogging even though my blog is a loser :). I feel I’m part of the world, I have my ‘footprint’ in digital ink…my blogging is a topic of conversation with friends, family and acquaintances; mostly because they ask why I want to write at all :).
      The act of blogging can be as therapeutic as hitting your pillow. Then, you get surprised when some one tells you he read your blog and agreed with you! Wow! I’M ONE WITH WORLD OF ONE!

      Just kidding.

      Reply
      1. callmeshebear Post author

        “I feel I’m part of the world, I have my ‘footprint’ in digital ink…”

        I feel the same way about blogging. It has given me a place and a reason to write more and to have a voice. It is definitely therapeutic.

        Good luck with your blog and all the best for 2013. :))

  4. Pingback: Photo Bonanza | Yorkshire Viking

  5. denisefrombolton

    I am with everybody else. I balk at the links to “improove your readership” or similar. Because the thought of more readers frightens me to death.
    I love your blog…your beautuful pictures make me feel calm and it is so honest. But at the end of the day I write my blog for myself not other people. If others read it that is a bonus…and sometimes I almost hope they don’t, when I have exposed my vulnerabilities.

    So please keep on. If people don’t like it they will soon go away.

    Love denise

    Reply

Leave a Reply

