Mushy vacation brain and the Instagram madness that never was

I woke up this morning with my brain feeling like a pile of mush. The feeling is kind of similar to that Mommy Brain feeling after giving birth to your child, which pretty much feels like you also just gave birth to your brain because you can’t think straight to save your life.

Actually, my mushy brain this morning is not that bad because my very large mug of coffee seems to be curing the fogginess. I only wish coffee could easily cure Mommy Brain, which according to my husband, my condition is chronically hopeless.

I’m feeling foggy because we just arrived home last night from a two-week vacation in beautiful Costa Rica. It was a fabulous family vacation and I have more to tell you about it, but I need a few days to get back into the swing of things here in the city. You know – work, school, and catching up on tons of vacation laundry. Ugh.

I was really looking forward to sharing my Instagram photos from Costa Rica while we were away but a couple of things prevented me from doing this: spotty WiFi access and on day three in Costa Rica, Instagram disabled my account for supposed Terms of Service Violations.

photo

I was shocked by this and the more I think about the more mad I get. I did not do anything to violate anything and my account has been wrongly disabled. It’s been almost two weeks now and I have had no response from Instagram about this, so I’m guessing that nothing will be done to remedy it. Grrrr I am so not impressed.

This really makes me mad because I have supported and defended Instagram since I first started using the app months ago. I thought that maybe my account got hacked and was posting spam but my friends and family who followed me would have let me know. I received no notice or explanation of why.

Grrrr. UP YOURS INSTAGRAM!

I’m getting myself all worked up about this, so I should probably go now before I really lose my cool. But before I stomp off all mad, I wanted to let you know that I have a ton of photos from Costa Rica to share which I will be editing and organizing into a slide show on my Flickr account.

I’ll post the slide show here as soon as I get a chance, or whenever my brain decides to come back from vacation. πŸ™‚

Sunset over the mountain

12 thoughts on “Mushy vacation brain and the Instagram madness that never was

    1. callmeshebear Post author

      I submitted three requests to Instagram so far. All I get is some automated response with a ticket number. In the mean time, I’m almost over IG and I will probably move on to sharing my photos on Flickr or some other photo sharing app on my iphone.

      Thanks!

      Reply
  1. Socky Pitargue

    That’s awful! R was the first one to call my attention to the fact that you were no longer on her follow list. And when I checked mine, I also didn’t find your name. I seriously got worried – you know, if things were okay. Costa Rica is far away. Good thing J fb’d and things seemed upbeat on your end. Forget Instagram (I’m finding the app to be a bit of a bore lately) and just continue with this blog. In this blog, I appreciate the significance of each of your photos. Instagram leaves out the stories that make every photograph a true and meaningful snapshot of a moment in our life. I’m trying to go back to blogging too πŸ™‚

    Reply
    1. callmeshebear Post author

      Awww thanks Socky! There is internet access where we were but not where we were staying, and the wifi in the town was so unreliable. The computers in the internet cafe were pretty fast but when we went there we pretty much just stuck to checking emails and doing banking as quickly as possible.

      I’m pretty disappointed about Instagram, but at this point I am almost over it. I think I will start using the mobile Flickr app more and look for some other photo sharing apps out there.

      Good luck with your blog! Can’t wait to get together to tell you and the gang all about Costa Rica.

      Reply
  2. Andrew Kowalchuk

    I’m with you on the return to work mushy brain. For me, two weeks away and I came back, got to my office and had complete work amnesia. “What do I do again? Names of colleagues? Vaguely remember that there are youth I mentor later in the week but until then, not sure. Probably should try to remember who these youth are.”
    Took two weeks to fully recover.

    Reply
  3. strawberryquicksand

    Fun, isn’t it. I had TWO of my long-standing hotmail accounts hacked. I created them back in the day when I had a different phone number, god only knows what alternative email address and probably in my maiden name, to boot. It took me THREE WEEKS of surfing the net and attempting to contact hotmail in order to get them restored. I finally did, but opened a bigpond account (to which I am entitled but never used) for all my incoming mail. At least I am a paying customer of Bigpond and there will be someone at the other end of the phone if I ring, wailing because my email has been compromised! All the best with instagram! Can you make a new account? I never use it. I am guessing you have many photos in your old account… Good luck with them.

    Reply
    1. callmeshebear Post author

      Yes very, very frustrating. I received no notice, no explanation of why…meanwhile Instagram is rampant with spammers and fake accounts and girls posting pics of their cleavages. I have 300 photos shared on Instagram but luckily I also have them saved on my hard drive.

      I did create a new account, but haven’t used it yet. Not sure if I will use it. This whole experienced has left me with a bad taste in my mouth.

      Reply
    1. callmeshebear Post author

      I know, I have heard from some others who also had this happen to their accounts. I got no response from Instagram. I went ahead and started another account, but I feel like that whole mess made me lose my momentum. I’m not feeling the IG love at all at the moment.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

