You lose some, you win big

The good thing about having gained thirty lbs over the last ten years is that I now have sexy, shapely, well proportioned legs.

No, seriously! For most of my life I have been a skinny Minnie – tall and awkward, all arms and legs. And I don’t mean super model, trendy skinny (if there is such a thing), just skinny. Fast forward ten years and two kids later, and quickly approaching forty, I have gained some much needed curves, but a little too much chubby spots for my liking.

I was mostly feeling pretty good about my changing body. I’m getting older and it’s to be expected that a lot of us will most likely get a little thicker as the years add up. I’m okay with this. What I am not okay with is being extremely out of shape and run down. I think I am far too young to be panting up a few flights of stairs and avoiding physically strenuous activities with my kids because my body can’t handle it. Just a couple of years ago, I climbed all 1176 steps of stairs of the CN Tower you see in the distance of this photo:

Ice city

A post shared by Billie-Jo (@bearheartwoman) on

Right now, I don’t think I would make it halfway without keeling over.

I realized how out of shape I am when we were on vacation in Costa Rica. Sure, I spent most of my time lying around on the white sand beaches, but there were a few things I found that I couldn’t keep up with while on outings with my husband and kids. Hiking, any kind of climbing, and even horse back riding were activities that quite literally wiped me out and took me days to fully recover.

This is coming from a woman who used to easily bike across the city and break out into just a little bit of a sweat.

So, in an effort to nurture my Plan de Vida, I have made a new friend. Her name is Jenny, last name Craig. I was skeptical at first. I’m generally not into frozen, packaged foods, but I know myself and I knew that in order to drop the weight I would need something structured and easy to follow. I can eat as much fresh vegetables as I want along with the prepared food. I started about a month ago and so far it’s going great. Soon, I’ll be ready to start preparing my own meals which I am excited about.

I want to live a long, healthy and happy life. I want to be like those eighty year old grandmothers I saw biking with ease on the dirt roads in rural Costa Rica. Losing the extra weight is my first step in getting healthy, and four weeks into it, I am feeling a difference.

Morning stroll in the snow covered boardwalk

A post shared by Billie-Jo (@bearheartwoman) on

It’s quite cold and icy up here right now, so I’m not getting out as much to go for my walks and to take pictures. But come spring, I will be carrying thirty pounds less and I will be doing more biking and brisk walking on those lakeshore trails. It’s a habit I intend on keeping when I am old and gray and surrounded by grandkids.

And dammit, I’m gonna have fabulous, sexy and shapely legs when I do it.

7 thoughts on “You lose some, you win big

    1. callmeshebear Post author

      Thanks! I actually did yoga many years ago. I did it through my first pregnancy up until about a week before my daughter was born. I signed up for post-natal yoga afterwards, but sadly, my back was too sensitive to do any kind of poses, even the most gentlest of ones. I haven’t tried too much since, but it was on my mind lately to start again. And there’s a yoga studio right close to my house.

      Reply
  1. strawberryquicksand

    Good luck with all that. Dieting sucks, and exercise sucks even more (well, at least for the first two weeks). I have a new friend, since January, called ALDI. Aldi sell meal replacement shakes (powdered in a package) for a mere two bux a pop – compared to the $3.50 that Woolworths charges that’s not a bad price. I’ve been religiously devouring one daily for breakfast and, in addition, I have swapped my carb-laden sandwich lunchs for salads and meat/tuna/chicken most days. I still take no prisoners when we order a pizza or go out for Chinese, but for the most part, my pants are a bit looser.

    Reply
    1. callmeshebear Post author

      That’s great Strawberry!

      The first day on my diet, I was starving! The next few days after that progressively got better as I got used to it. Now I’m doing pretty good, with the exception of one night off last weekend for a dinner party. I felt horribly guilty the next day and convinced myself that I gained all the weight back from one night of indulgence. I ended up losing 2lbs that week. lol

      Good luck to you!

      Reply
      1. strawberryquicksand

        That’s the thing. These diets all claim “you never go hungry!!!!! Eat all you want!!!” but yes. You go hungry. And no….. all you want does NOT reallllllly include salad and veggies for the most part. I must say, though, that my workmate just yesterday commented that I had lost weight! I was so proud. lol. Even though it is probably only two or three kilos, my pants are looser and… well, yeah. My pants are looser. 🙂

        Keep up the good work!

    1. callmeshebear Post author

      Thank you SmallHouseBigGarden. My jeans are fitting looser and I’m feeling great about being able to wear all those clothes in my closet that haven’t fit me for the last few years. I have a new wardrobe again!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

