A city slicker with a country heart

Raw beauty

Raw beauty

Growing up in a small and rural First Nations reserve in Northern Ontario, I always knew I wasn’t going to live there forever. I don’t know how I knew this, but from as young as I can remember I always had dreams of leaving my community and living in a big and bustling city. Today I guess I can say my dream came true. I live downtown in a pretty large urban centre. It’s not as busy or exciting as say New York City, but it’s still an interesting place. I live in what is a gritty but cool neighbourhood that is full of independent art galleries and hipster hot spots.

Evening stroll

Evening stroll

You would think that with my photography addiction that I would be snapping pics of urban street scenes, graffiti art and street photography, of which there is plenty to see. Toronto is the perfect place for that. However, I tend to go out of my way to find quiet corners away from all the noise and concrete that I live in.

Breathing Space

Breathing Space

I favour raw nature spots over perfectly manicured city parks and gardens. I appreciate the convenience of having the city right at my doorstep, but I long to be by the lake to get some breathing space. I prefer walking in paths overgrown with wild grass rather than cobblestone trails and sidewalks. I enjoy the variety of things to see and do downtown, but I’m happiest when I am sitting on the rocky shore viewing the city from afar.

The value of contrast

The value of contrast

It’s funny how all these years I thought of myself as someone who was born to live in a city, a real city slicker. Looking through my collection of photos from the last year or so, it’s clear that I am still a country girl at heart. I always have been and always will be.

Gritty urban sunset

Gritty urban sunset

All my photos are taken with my iphone 5 in Tommy Thompson Park, Toronto, Canada.

Follow me on Instagram: @bearheartwoman and on EyeEm: @callmeshebear

4 thoughts on “A city slicker with a country heart

  1. Jenny

    When I was little we lived by the sea. I can still taste the salt water in my mouth, smell the fish for sale by the harbour and hear the sea gulls screech. We moved south and inland when I was seven but to this day, my memory of the sea lives in every cell of my body and a part of me pines for it. It makes you think, doesn’t it, about all the sayings like ‘show me the child of seven and I’ll show you the man’ (or woman) and all the psychology-speak about our formative years. Thanks, it’s a thought-provoking post – with inspiring photos, as always 🙂

    Reply
    1. callmeshebear Post author

      Thanks Jenny. I grew up next to a lake and my parents still live there. Being close to the water has always been very soothing for me. I’m glad that I live in an area of the city where I can easily get down to the shore.

      Reply
  2. michaelwatsonvt

    Thank you for taking us for a walk through your city. I am truly impressed by the images from your i-phone. Mostly, though, I enjoyed seeing your world thru your eyes,

    Reply

Leave a Reply

