An unexpected but positive change…

photo

I first moved to Toronto 15 years ago to leave the past behind me and start a fresh, new life. The city has been good to me and I have found everything I ever wanted – a home, a loving partner, two beautiful children, an amazing career and wonderful friends. Just three months ago, I had no idea that my life could change so much in such a short period of time…

We’re moving out of Toronto to my (very small) home community in Northern Ontario. I promise to write more about this in another blog post.

photo (2)

Our new home is not that faraway, about a 4 hour drive north of Toronto, but this a huge change for my family. It all happened rather unexpected and fast, but it’s happening and we have started the process of relocating. I’m excited and looking forward to our new life.

I’m also a little sad to be leaving this beautiful city that has been so good to me over the years. There are a lot of things about living here that I love and will miss, but when I see how happy my kids are to be with their grandparents and extended family, I know that moving back home is the right thing to do.

photo (1)

I’m even more sad about leaving the wonderful people I have had the pleasure of getting to know over the years. It’s true, I don’t have the support of extended family here in the city, but I have the support of a small group of friends which has made living here so great. I look forward to coming back often to visit.

photo (3)

Yesterday my kids started their new school up north and today I am back at work in Toronto for a few days to tie up loose ends before starting my new job. It’s a big change in a short period of time but I am really happy and excited for the move. On the other hand, I am feeling a little bit of sadness with a tinge of regret.

All I can say is that this momentous change is for the best, but still, leaving this beautiful city and saying goodbye to our wonderful friends, is just so bittersweet.

photo (4)

4 thoughts on “An unexpected but positive change…

  1. Vicki Flaherty

    I love both your excitement and positivity, and your nostalgia and sadness. Such a rich and wonderful time of transition. Here’s to your amazing life – what you have created and where you are going. All the best to you and your family!

    Reply
    1. callmeshebear Post author

      Thank you Vicki. I’m quite excited about this change, a little nervous, but looking forward to moving forward with the next chapter of our lives. Funny, because we have wanted to move out of the city for awhile now but I never expected we would move to the place where I grew up.

      Reply
  2. jenny

    Hi! So happy for you and your family – your photos express your love and appreciation of nature, and so your decision to move out of the city comes as no surprise! Wishing you every happiness..

    Reply
    1. callmeshebear Post author

      Thanks Jenny! I have fallen out of the habit of taking photos because my mobility was not very good, but I’m doing much better now and looking forward to sharing all kinds of new photos of all the beautiful spots where I grew up.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

