Full moon reflections

Faithful orbit...

Faithful orbit…

I have not done any writing in a long time. Now that I have started my new job and my kids are in school, I need make some time for writing again. I’m kind of lost without it.

Our big move is in process and we are getting used to our new life out of the city. We have all had some little blips to deal with. We were all happy and excited about the move in the beginning, but now that we are getting used to our new routines, job, school and friends (or lack of), reality sets in and some challenges have come up.

At the moment, it’s mostly my son who is having a hard time adjusting. He was doing great at first but now he is having a difficult time at school. It mainly has to do with the fact that he has no one to play with at recess and he is bored and lonely. The last two days he has cried about not wanting to go to school. Obviously this is very concerning for me, so I sent a note to his teacher this morning. I haven’t heard from her yet so I can only hope that he gave it to her and that she was able to address the situation. No parent wants to see their child cry because they have no friends.

My daughter is doing better. She had a situation over the weekend with someone who she thought was her friend. Honestly, I was cautious with this child from the beginning and her behavior last weekend confirmed my suspicions. I know this is harsh to say about a child, but for some very complicated reasons, she is not to be trusted. But since we live in the same community, they get on the school bus together and are in the same class, my daughter has to learn how to deal with her in a good way so there won’t be problems at school. My girl is very emotionally mature,intelligent and empathetic. I am confident that she will learn this tough lesson. It’s hard enough for adults to deal with this let alone an eleven year old child. Once again I am reminded of the bitter life lesson of keeping your friends close, but keeping your enemies closer. It’s not nice but sometimes that’s the way it is.

I have to keep reminding myself of all the positive reasons for why I made the decision to move up here. Changes, even really really good ones are not without some wrinkles to iron out.

Perhaps it is this full moon that is playing tricks on us and magnifying all of our emotions…

6 thoughts on “Full moon reflections

  1. oneaveragestudent

    Moving to a new place is tough on everyone, especially kids!! They will adjust as long as they keep getting a positive influence 🙂

    Reply
  2. Vicki Flaherty

    This is the upside of a hill…you’ll all find yourselves coasting down on the other side in time…keeping that commitment to a positive attitude and know that this experience is helping your children grow, be adaptive, and resilient – and their mom, too. Look forward to your writing more again!

    Reply
  3. Jenny

    Hi She Bear, it perplexes me that we see a huge moon in the sky, and yet on a photograph it looks so much smaller – still beautiful though.. I hope you and your kids are finding your way a bit more easily now – it’s bound to be a rocky path at the beginning but I’m sure every time you look around you, you’ll be reminded of what you’re offering your kids by this move – and one day they will thank you for it 🙂 Keep your faith! Love Jenny

    Reply

Leave a Reply

